Ross Selected To Participate in 2014 Sprite Slam Dunk


The NBA announced Thursday that defending champion Terrence Ross (@T_DotFlight31) has been selected to participate in the 2014 Sprite Slam Dunk as part of State Farm All-Star Saturday Night. Ross won the 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk crown after defeating Jeremy Evans (Utah) in the final round with 58 per cent of the fan votes. This year’s event will take place February 15 at Smoothie King Center in New Orleans and will be broadcasted on TSN2 and TNT beginning at 8:00 p.m. (ET).

Through 49 games this season, Ross is averaging 10.2 points, 3.3 rebounds and 25.6 minutes, while shooting .393 (90-for-229) from three-point range. He scored a career-high 51 points January 25 versus the Los Angeles Clippers, matching Vince Carter’s franchise record set 14 years ago (February 27, 2000 vs. Phoenix). Ross is one of three players in the NBA to score 50 points this season – Carmelo Anthony (62), Kevin Durant (54).

Ross is the fifth Raptor to participate in the NBA slam dunk contest, joining Vince Carter (2000), Tracy McGrady (2000), Jamario Moon (2008) and DeMar DeRozan (2010 and 2011).

This year’s event will feature the participants competing as a team – three players representing the Eastern Conference and three players representing the Western Conference – in an above-the-rim two-round format.  In a significant first in the event’s history, the competition will tip off with a Freestyle Round where the dunkers for each conference will have 90 seconds to showcase as many dunks as they want.  At the conclusion of the Freestyle Round, the panel of judges will then choose a winner by voting “East” or “West.”  The winning conference will earn the advantage of deciding whether its dunkers will dunk first or second in the head-to-head battles that take place in the Battle Round.

The Battle Round will feature head-to-head matchups pitting East dunkers vs. West dunkers, with the judges choosing a winner for each battle.  Upon losing a head-to-head battle, that dunker is then eliminated from the competition.  The first team to win three battles will win the competition and be crowned 2014 Sprite Slam Dunk champions.

After the competition, fans will also have the opportunity to vote for the player of their choice as “Dunker of the Night” through SMS, Twitter, and the NBA GameTime app.


Paul George Indiana Pacers Harrison Barnes Golden State Warriors
Terrence Ross Toronto Raptors Damian Lillard Portland Trail Blazers
John Wall Washington Wizards Ben McLemore Sacramento Kings



Vince Carter 2000 Oakland 1st
Tracy McGrady 2000 Oakland 3rd
Jamario Moon 2008 New Orleans 3rd
DeMar DeRozan 2010 Arlington 2nd
DeMar DeRozan 2011 Los Angeles 3rd
Terrence Ross 2013 Houston 1st

Tags: | | | | | |